I WOULD CRY: A 16 DAYS ACTIVISM AGAINST GBV TRIBUTE

Carie Joe
2 min readDec 1, 2020

--

I WOULD CRY
I would cry
So the tense in your head lessens,
I would cry
So the bitterness in your soul leaves you,
I would cry
So the stupidity in your cerebrum abandons you,
I would cry
So the humanity in you surfaces,
I would cry
So the pity in you aids me,
I would cry
So the beast in you adopts being good —
I would cry

So the wounds in you infiltrates sense,
I won’t though!
Call the moon and summon the sun
Inform the stars if you can call them by names
Still, I won’t!
Because tears don’t cover truths
Nor do they add sweetness to an evil soul.

If it would give you strength then I would
But you wouldn’t know what to do with it!
If tears could grow sanity,
Or nurture a good heart surely I would cry
But a beast at night is the same each dawn
If it wasn’t my fault then I would.
The blindness in my insight
And the love in my judgment that made me see you as a choice,
A great choice!
But it was I,
I fell upfront and even after all this
I still sleep with the hope of a changed sunrise
Like our days in the pine trees and the honey words
When I was your star and not your punching bag.
Even the winds are amazed,

As witnesses,
They fall short of words.
I would cry but I won’t!
For the Burden is my own. For Death is my own. For wounds are my own.

I would cry but I wont! I choose to speak and say NO!

NO! to Gender Based Violence.
CarieJoe.

--

--

Carie Joe

Careen is a #Tanzanian Writer and Social Change Dealer! Founder No Taka. #Sdgs #Youthpower #Radical #Sapiophile!